Skip to content

I ROCK!!!

January 24, 2008
The image “https://i1.wp.com/swirlee.org/media/2006/11/pac_man_chart.png” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.
I don’t actually write much about grad school, but that’s because by the time I get everything read/written/marked, the last thing I want to do is think about it more. Right now, though, I’m on a bit of a (natural) high. I just taught a stats lab and it was AWESOME. The fact that I was awesome probably won’t surprise many of you (I mean, really), but in this case it is a bit of a surprise. I have been teaching this particular lab all semester – that’s right, I have my own students, they are all mine – and until now I have sucked. I mean it. I’ve been boring and perfunctory, stiff and awkward. Like old married couple sex and scared teenager sex all at once, but without the sex.

Today though, I really rocked. I finally decided “You know what? I know this shit! I don’t need to practice a dozen times. I don’t need detailed lecture notes. I’m going to bring a list of major things to cover, and wing the rest.” It worked. I was more comfortable, I made some jokes, I was more interesting, and my students were much more comfortable around me afterward. It probably didn’t hurt that I showed the Pacman graph, wore my Communist Party t-shirt from Threadless (which a student admitted to also owning) and made a reference to The Office. Yeah, that’s how cool I am. Suck it, suckers.

Now I have to go mark all their assignments. Shit.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2008 11:27 am

    It has been a while since i last said it, so i will say it here, say it now, and say it proud. I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!! I wish i were in one of your labs, but alas, i am not. However, i can, and do (may i add) feel like i am being tutored by you, over your medium of choice/study. Therefore, brava, you lady, brava.

  2. January 30, 2008 11:31 am

    Aw, you’re a sweetie Matt. Thanks! I like your blog too, although it makes me feel a little embarrassed and sheepish that I don’t keep on top of politics like I should.

  3. Dr. Jim permalink
    January 30, 2008 4:18 pm

    Oh yeah, and I’m chopped liver!

    Jealously yours,

    Jim

  4. maffersalmon permalink
    February 1, 2008 1:26 pm

    Whatever,
    A blog that is as interesting as yours beats a mundane political blog any day🙂

  5. February 3, 2008 3:55 pm

    You’re a sweetie too, Jim. I just figured that goes without saying, I guess.

Leave a Reply

