Skip to content

Ghost of Christmas Past

December 20, 2007
I got an email from the past today.  From me, specifically, that I sent to Futureme.org two years ago.  I honestly never expected the website to last long enough to actually relay my email to me, but I woke up this morning, and here it was.  Funny, the past doesn’t look much different than the present. 

Dear Future Me:

I don’t actually think that this letter will come back to me in the future.  One year is an awfully long time for a website to last.  Well, I might as well try.

I am fairlt drunk right now.  Not pissed drunk, but warm.  Mmmm… red wine,  the key to my vault.  Today was the last day of exams for both Annabree and I.  I stayed up until 3am writing my independent study on Swami Radha (may I never hear that name again) and then wrote a test this afternoon – for which I didn’t really study.  Then, we hung out downtoun, went shopping at Ten Thousand Villages, and got some sushi.  We ate the sushi at home, after which we did a mad dash to clean the house before Sue came over to to meet the rabbits.  She’ll be taking care of them for the week we are in BC… which begins tomorrow.

Oh Gods, I don’t want to go to BC tomorrow.  Well, I do and I don’t.  I want to see people, but I don’t want to have to split my time up, budgeting every minute, so that we can see everyone.  I don’t want to have to choose between family and I hate it that [my mother-in-law] is pulling this big guilt trip on us that we haven’t given her enough time.  Well guess what, NO ONE gets enough time.  We are only in BC for a week, for God’s sake.

Wow, I am really feeling the alcohol now.  I like wine more than it is good for me.

How boring!  My blast-from-the-past email is full of minutia about cleaning the house and eating sushi.  Well, I guess it shows that at this time of year the only things on my mind were (and still are!) getting my semester wrapped up and going out to BC for Christmas. 

Hilariously, I wrote this letter while drunk. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    December 20, 2007 9:07 pm

    Oh my GOD that’s MY Sue that was taking care of the bunnies!! I remember you talking about it at that spa thing that I met you guys at. Weird hey????

    By the way … how do you know Sue anyway?

Leave a Reply

